Prof. Saibal Chatterjee
      Director, National Institute of Technology Mizoram

  Prof. Saibal Chatterjee (SMIEEE, FIE, LMISTE) was born in West Bengal, India in 1969. He received B.E. degree in Electrical Engineering from NIT Durgapur, Kolkata, India in 1990, and M.E degree and Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering from Jadavpur University in 1994 and 2007 respectively. He did his PGDIM from IGNOU. His industry experience includes ORG Limited, Howrah and Marson’s Limited, Kolkata for 3.5 years. He served as a faculty member from 1997 till 2018 in the Department of Electrical Engineering, NERIST, Arunachal Pradesh, India in the capacity of Lecturer, Assistant Professor, Associate Professor and Professor. He is presently working as Professor in the Department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering, NIT Mizoram, Aizawl, India since August 2018. His research interest includes power systems, and High voltage. He has over 60 scopus indexed publications. He has guided more than 20 Btech projects, 10 Mtech projects, 7 PhD students (2 submitted) and is guiding more than 5 PhD students. He was associated with three research projects from AICTE, DST etc amounting to more than Rs. 100 lakhs. He was IEEE DEIS Kolkata Chapter Chairman in 2018-2019. His academic administrative experience includes that of Hostel Warden, HOD, TEQIP II coordinator, Electrical Engineer, Chairman (Gymkhana), T&P Incharge, Dean (SA) at NERIST and Dean (P&D), Dean (Acad) i/c at NIT Mizoram. He has taken over the temporary charge of the post of Director, NIT Mizoram w.e.f. 12th June 2021 (A/N)




Prof. Rajat Gupta joined as the Director of NIT Mizoram on the 3rd July, 2017. He is also holding additional charge of Director, NIT Silchar. A National Scholarship holder and a Ph.d in Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, Prof. Rajat Gupta, 1959 born, is a Professor of Department of Mechanical Engineering of NIT Silchar since 1996. He served at NIT Silchar in various capacities like Incharge Director, Dean (R & C), Dean (SW), Head of the Department (Mechanical Engineering), Chief Warden etc before joining as the Director of NIT Srinagar in 2011. He completed his 5 years of tenure w.e.f October 2011 to October 2016 as the Director, NIT Srinagar. Since October 2016, he has been appointed by the MHRD as the officiating Director of NIT Silchar. He has published more than 160 research papers in various National/International Journals/ Conferences and also written 05 Chapters in books. He has produced 07 Ph.D scholars. Presently 06 Ph.D scholars are working under his guidance. His research areas include among others, Fluid Mechanics, CFD, Non-Conventional Energy, Thermo-fluids, Studies on Low Speed Wind Turbine etc. He chaired various National/International Conferences and delivered keynote addresses. He was the Chairman of Direct Admission of Students Abroad (DASA), a programme of MHRD for the year 2016. He is associated with various organizations and member of various Committees of MHRD, Engineering Accreditation Evaluation Committee [EAEC] of NBA, AIB-UGET, AICTE, J&K State Advisory Council for Higher Education, IIM, ASME, National Research Advisory Committee, NIF- Ahmadabad, Court of Central University of Kashmir etc. He has received many awards like Education Leadership Awards, Rajiv Gandhi Education Excellence Awards etc.