राष्ट्रीय प्रौद्योगिकीसंस्थानमिजोरम

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY MIZORAM

(An Institute of National Importance under Ministry of HRD, Govt. of India) CHALTLANG, AIZAWL, MIZORAM – 796012

MINUTES OF THE 10TH SENATE MEETINGHELD ON THE 16TH NOVEMBER 2019 AT 4-30 PM AT THE VIRTUAL CLASS ROOM, NIT MIZORAM, AIZAWL-796012

List of Senate Members who attended the 10th meeting of Senate:

Sl. No	Name and Designation		
1.	Prof. Rajat Gupta	Ex-Officio,	
	Director, NIT Mizoram.	Chairman	
2.	Prof. A. T. Khan, Department of Chemistry, IIT Guwahati	Member	
3.	Prof. Sukumar Nandi, Department of CSE, IIT Guwahati	Member	
4.	Prof.(Ms.) Sudeshna Purakayastha, Department of History, Assam University, Silchar	Member	
5.	Prof. Biswajit Mahanty, Industrial and Systems Engineering, IIT Kharagpur	Special Invitee	
6.	Prof. Saibal Chatterjee, Professor (EEE), NIT Mizoram	Member	
7.	Dr. Vinay Singh, HOD (BS & HSS) & Asst. Prof. (MA), NIT Mizoram	Member Invitee	
8.	Dr. H. Lalhmingsanga, HOD & Asst. Prof. (ME), NIT Mizoram	Member Invitee	
9.	Dr. Ranjita Das, HOD& Asst. Prof. (CSE), NIT Mizoram	Member Invitee	
10.	Mr. Anagha Bhattacharya , HOD & Asst. Prof. (EEE), NIT Mizoram	Member Invitee	
11.	Dr.Bidesh Roy, HOD(CE) & Asst. Prof. (ME) NIT Mizoram	Member Invitee	
12.	Dr. R. S. Dhar, HOD & Asst. Prof. (ECE) NIT Mizoram	Member Invitee	
13.	Dr. P. AjmalKoya, Dean (R&C) & Associate Prof. (Chemistry), NIT Mizoram	Member Invitee	
14.	Dr. Alok Shukla, Dean (SW)& Associate Prof. (Physics) NIT Mizoram	Member Invitee	
15.	Dr. K. G. Singh, Dean (FW), F I/C (Exam.) & Associate Prof. (HSS), NIT Mizoram	Member Invitee	
16.	Dr. Lalthanchami Sailo, Registrar, NIT Mizoram	Secretary	



The Chairman welcomed all the members present and thanked them for sparing their valuable time for the 10th Senate Meeting. He discussed about the steps taken by the Institute in improving the NIRF ranking and solicited the guidance and the help from the members and Special Invitee in this regard. Leave of absence was granted to Dr. Surender Ontella who could not attend the meeting.

The meeting then proceeded with the business as under:

SNT 10.1	Welcome address by the	Noted.
SNT 10.2	Confirmation of the minutes on the resolution of the 9 th Senate Meeting held on 3 rd july 2019 at NIT Mizoram	Confirmed
SNT 10.3	To note the action taken on 9th Senate Meeting	Noted.
SNT 10.4	Report of Btech, Mtech and PhD admissions in Aug 2019	Noted
SNT 10.5	Report of 3rd convocation	Noted
SNT 10.6	Report of formation of scrutiny committee for faculty recruitment 2019 approved by Chairman, Senate Cum Chairman, BOG, NIT Mizoram	Noted
SNT 10.7	Ratification of all new DC approved by Chairman, Senate after 9th Senate Meeting.	Ratified
SNT 10.8	Ratification of academic calendar of Aug- Dec 2019 approved by Chairman, Senate	Ratified
SNT 10.9	Approval for intake of AMIE along with Btech / BE in Mtech courses through CCMT and Internal Entrance Examination.	Deferred.
SNT	Application of ME Mtech	Approved with effect from 16th Nov
10.10	student Mr. Kanak Raj (MT18ME002) for mtech project at ISRO.	2019, the date of 10 th Senate meeting.
SNT	Application of EEE Mtech	



student Mr. Ravindra Raj BM (MT018EE001) for mtech project at Agnikul, an Incubation centre under IIT	2019, the date of 10 th Senate meeting.
Semester withdrawal of BT17CS013 Mr. Rohan due	Approved
Modification of Question paper pattern	 For mid semester, there would be three questions. First two questions shall be compulsory without any option and third question shall be having one option. Both the options shall be pertaining to same CO. For end semester, there would be five questions. First three questions shall be compulsory without any option and last two questions shall be having one option. Both the options shall be pertaining to same CO. The modified pattern shall be applicable from Feb – June 2020 semester. The change of duration for the examination was deferred.
Modification of Grading of Marks Proposed modification of	Senate refers the same for further study. Recommended to BOG for approval.
PhD regulations Minor Project under TEQIP III Up gradation of PhD scholars from JRF to SRF	Recommended to BOG for approval. • Senate decided that the External Assessment Committee
	constituted vide Office Order No. NITMZ/Acad(25)/2019 /865 dated 03.10.2019 shall be framing uniform yardstick for upgradation. Chairman, Senate has been authorized to select the external expert of the committee.
	(MT018EE001) for mtech project at Agnikul, an Incubation centre under IIT Madras. Semester withdrawal of BT17CS013 Mr. Rohan due to medical problem Modification of Question paper pattern Modification of PhD regulations Minor Project under TEQIP III Up gradation of PhD scholars



10.18

permission of the Chair

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

(DR. LALTHANCHAMI SAILO)

Secretary, Senate & Registrar

(PROF. RAJAT GUPTA)

Chairman, Senate & Director

9